top of page

Matchweek 9: Breaks Over Let's Ride

We. Are. So. Back.



Arsenal vs Tottenham


Oh yes, what a way to come back from the international break. Kick everything off on Saturday morning with the North London Derby. A rivalry that is already enjoyable at its core, add in two clubs currently in the running for the title. Considering last year, they played for top four at the end of the season, it is hard to top that scenario, but this is not so bad. Both clubs currently average one goal against per match, and average around 2.5 goals for per match. That basically tells me nothing at all if I am being honest. Do attacks prevail, and we get a slugfest 3-3 match? I hope so, I would give up my first born for that. I refuse to let myself be let down though, so I am going in assuming defense is going to take the game, and we are going to see a cagey affair. I really hope I am wrong, but I would rather be wrong, then be let down by the attackers. Call me whatever you want, I am playing this safe. Draw


Bournemouth vs Brentford

Arguable two clubs that have shocked me so far this year. Bournemouth are getting a bad rap because of the fact they let up nine goals. I am not defending them, I just wanted to make sure everyone remembered they let up nine goals. Credit where credit is due though, they have collected 8 points so far this year, eight more than I expected at this point. Brentford have collected nine points and have basically been scoring at will. I am fairly confident in saying take the over here. Bournemouth cannot stop allowing goals, Brentford cannot stop scoring them. Brentford win.


Crystal Palace vs Chelsea

Pretty much looking at the opposite of the North London Derby here. Both clubs are not scoring goals well, and both defenses are leaky, were talking post buffalo chicken leaky. We have not really seen Chelsea under Potter so this is hard to predict, there is a lot up in the air for them. The bright side is that they had a whole international break to get things in order. I am going to ride with the new manager. Players tend to get up for them, at least in the first few matches. Nothing against Palace, I just think they have been exceptionally average this year so far. Chelsea win.


Fulham vs Newcastle Utd

Oh, how my beautiful Newcastle has fallen. Injuries have not been friendly for us, they plague us like, well the black plague in Europe. Bruno is back for this one, but we also lost Isak and the fantastic Chris Wood. Not sure how ASM is looking or Wilson yet. There are puddles in a parking lot deeper than this team, I do not like the look of things going into the weekend. The only upside to this is that Fulham are letting in goals quite frequently. The downside, they are scoring goals pretty easily as well. I do not see either team having an edge here. Draw.


Liverpool vs Brighton

Brighton was flying so high; the sky was the limit. Now I have no idea what to expect from them. A new manager that I know next to nothing about. I tried looking up videos about him but honestly, they got me no where closer to understanding what to expect from him. Klopp, we know what to expect, excuses. I have my money on something about the international break taking too hard a toll on his players. I think they are going to bounce back here though; a lot has happened at Brighton since they last played. I can see them taking a dip in form. Liverpool win.


Southampton vs Everton

There may not be a goal in this match. There may not be a shot on target from either side. Defense is going to be huge for Everton as it has been for the last few weeks. I think Southampton’s defense is decent, but considering Everton’s attack is so poor, I see them standing strong here. Seriously, I do not see this as a match to watch. Neither club could hit water if they fell out of a boat. Draw. Scoreless likely.


West Ham Utd vs Wolverhampton

These are two of my “should be” clubs. As in, they should be playing better than they are. I have stood by both of them for weeks. No more. They are both playing poorly, until they show me something they will be called what they are, shite. This is a relegation scrap, at this point in the season at least. Both clubs are averaging 0.4 goal for per match. Wolves have at least kept three clean sheets to this point, at least something to be proud of. I could see that making a difference, but something about West Ham has me. All these new players have needed to find their footing. Moyes now had the international break to get things in line. Wolves are talented no doubt, but they cannot score, that has been an issue for years. West Ham have shown they can score, this year has just been a struggle. West Ham I see finally putting it together this weekend. West Ham win.


I am a busy man and don’t have time to break down all ten matches currently. If the time should open up, I will finish out the last three matches. By that time, I may also be 0-7 and “forget” to do anymore. Either way, best of luck, time to get busy betting.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page